So I got this metal type from the legendary David Peat. An amazing experience and totally humbling gift. But I don’t have a press. So what do I do? Haul my ass to Hobby Lobby and Fleet Farm. Got a shit ton of magnets from Fleet and ink and rollers from Hobby Lobby (they’re crap. Total crap. Anyone willing to suggest better ink and rollers for woodcuts/leterpress PLEASE leave me a comment). 

So I threw down my magnets like a boss. It isn’t pretty. In fact it’s probably horrible. But it stabilized my type and gave me something to work with. Then I inked up that sucker. Hand brandished it. Boom…okay half boom. Not the greatest job I have ever done on something, but it’s better than nothing okay? 


Like I said, if any of you woodcut artists or letterpress printers out there can give me any pointers (or let me know about a good little table top poster press someone doesn’t need anymore), please let me know! 

Leave a Reply

