The Offer

When the Real Estate agent finally showed up (a half hour late), I took my boyfriend in to see the house. We noticed the obvious power and water cut off notices on the door. Clearly the owner of the place didn’t care so much anymore. He was behind on everything. I began to get a bit concerned. Could the seller even afford to sell the house? 

I walked with my boyfriend and we talked plans. Things we could do. I kept asking him “Are you sure you could live here? Can you see yourself here?” And he kept responding positively.  So I put in an offer. It was low, and I knew it, but the house was unfinished and needed a lot of work. A lot of work. Tons of it. Like the kitchen and bathroom on the second floor were a hot mess. The water wasn’t even connected. That would be pricy. That and dealing with the mold. I needed the rest just to finish the upstairs. Then the windows would need replacing. Another five grand. 

So I went to the office and we filled out paper work and she discussed everything. She showed me paperwork of the issues that they were aware of. I signed my copies of everything. It was a good experience. I got my call the next day. He couldn’t sell for less than 10,000 less than appraisal price. If the appraiser saw the interior I knew he’d side with my price, but that was beside the point. Dude got in over his head flipping the place. He’s not even a professional.  If that’s what he needed, he would have to find someone else to pay it. It was in his best interest to do so. I was not going to get in the way of that. I understood. 

The agent told me not to give up yet, that she’d talk to him. But, I had pretty much made up my mind. I was over it. I wasn’t playing ball when I would need almost 15,000 to make the upstairs liveable. I told her to see what he says but if he can’t come down to my offer, I’m out. That was that. 

I still haven’t heard anything back, but I’m not sure I expect to. If it’s not meant to be, it will not be. I had been praying the night after I put in the offer that if I needed protecting from something, I asked God to take it from me. I see this as protection. So I’m taking it seriously. Though, I can’t say I’m not a little disappointed. 

Leave a Reply

