By You

I could have done it for myself you know. I’m an expert at ruining things. 

At letting things crack in my hands and setting them down to be shattered by another’s touch. 

But you got to it first didn’t you? 

You always were a rascal like that. 

Listening to your old friend Jack Daniel whisper to you about my pretty face and how to ruin it. 

You were a good listener to those imaginary friends. 

Now you’re a lonely listener. 

And me? 

I was broken by you before I even realized you’d touched me. 

Leave a Reply

