The Big Picture

You don’t have to tell me

I saw a glimps of her

When you opened your wallet 

I saw those eyes

That lovely face 

I saw how you looked at her

Seated next to her 

With that big grin on your face

I knew

I knew when I saw it

When you snapped the folds

Shut with such force you

Thought you could hide it

Smother it maybe

In the folds of that dark place

Kept by the little money you kept

Losing going on dates

With women like me

When you were trying to lose

Or perhaps replace

The memory of the one

Who got away

You tried to hide it

But I had seen it

The look on your face

The look on her face

In that photo in your wallet

And I knew

I could never amount to that

Leave a Reply

