Work

“Because you don’t need to do lifesaving work to be satisfied with what you do.” 

Oh good. I was worried. Since all I can think of as a Visual Merchandise coordinator in a retail environment is how much money I’m making my company, and how little I get in return. That and how much our customers are squeezed of money out of corporate greed, how many people (including children) probably die in the sweatshops making our products, and how thankless my job is because all my managers have a million other priorities that top mine. Oh, let’s not forget how pointless everything I do is, because corporate changes their minds anyway, so it doesn’t matter if things are right or wrong in the first place. 

Yep, thought I was going to feel like crap for doing something that’s pretty useless. But, now that you say I can be satisfied with what I do, I can just move on with my life.

To be fair, I really don’t mind my job. I make things pretty. Organize things nicely. Bring beauty and order to chaos…to the best of my ability. I decorate for Christmas. I make a decent living. I’m never bored really. Which is nice, because I’d rather be busy than bored. 

It’s the other people who degrade what I do that I have issue with. People who don’t realize the nicer things look, the better the atmosphere of the environment. The easier our customers can find things. The easier everyone’s lives are. The smoother clean up goes. The easier it is to find new places to put new product. 

You’d think I was asking them to commit genocide when I ask for help. Even pointing out that it’s in their job description doesn’t help. 

So at night I come home, snuggle with my cat, and thank God I don’t have one of those jobs I’m forced to bring my work home with me.

2 thoughts on “Work

  1. I love this post. I also have a job where it isn’t rocket science or brain surgery but I still enjoy it. I know you don’t really “enjoy” your job but you don’t hate it either. And at least you have your cat at the end of the day, don’t you? Keep on blogging!!

Leave a Reply

