Imago Dei

 “…and my speech and my message were not in plausible words of wisdom, but in demonstration of the Spirit and of power, that your faith might not rest in the wisdom of men but in the power of God.” -1Corinthians 2:4-5 
I often forget that God’s power will always out rationalize my ability to rationalize things. Mainly because I’m so human that I think everything revolves around me, and my ability to logic my way in and out of things. When it was a rational being that created me to be a rational being.  

In college I spent a great deal of time pondering the concept of being made Imago Dei: “In the image of God.” What does that mean? What does that look like in an ideal context when clearly all others have the same? Because humanity is fallen, clearly we aren’t Imago Dei-ing correctly. 

I always considered rationality to be one of the ways we are Imago Dei. The ability to be sentient. I also consider emotions to be another. The ability to feel, empathize, love, desire, and even to be righteously angry. Those were the ways God made us like Himself. That we could perhaps have a small gluons into understanding Him and thus be in relationship with Him. Then, by His mighty grace and love, He sent us Christ so He could fully experience the temptations of humanity. He became one of us, so He could save all of us. 

Talk about getting on our level. 

Above all I find understanding each other and forgiveness to be the greatest pieces of Imago Dei. The ability to get on another persons level and offer grace. I believe it is because they are a result of love in its truest form. 

If you cannot understand and forgive, then you cannot love as you ought to love. 

i think one of the ways Imago Dei has been corrupted is by being legalistically judgemental. God is judge. We are made in His image, but we are not God. I think Satan turns that around on us frequently. Telling us that because we have all these traits such as “feelings” and “rationality” that we can use them to play God. We behave as though we are entitled because of it. 

We have rationalized the Bible while forgetting to feel it as well. We have also felt the Bible without rationalizing it. We have spoken to God without letting Him speak, and we have let God speak only to try to interrupt. We are twisted and broken. We as Christians and seekers, just as broken and twisted as everyone else. 

In the words of the Spoken Word artist John Ruben “There is no justice, and no peace. There is only forgiveness.”

How wonderful that we have a God who is every step ahead, and gave us capital “G” Grace as an option. Knowing our enemy would twist us to try and break us. 
 

Leave a Reply

