A Letter to People of Faith Seeking Gods Best

This piece was inspired by a prayer request from one of the girls In my Bible Study, and it is a sentiment I think every human being can resonate with, including myself. I mostly wrote it because I needed to make these words more real to myself. I needed to hear them. I share them because I know I am not the only one. 

Beloved follower of Christ,

I have been praying for you as you have asked of me. When you mentioned your desire to be reminded that God truly wants the best for you, I found myself completely resonating with you. I was reminded of this when I read this passage today. 

3 Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ! According to his great mercy, he has caused us to be born again to a living hope through the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead, 4 to an inheritance that is imperishable, undefiled, and unfading, kept in heaven for you, 5 who by God’s power are being guarded through faith for a salvation ready to be revealed in the last time. 6 In this you rejoice, though now for a little while, if necessary, you have been grieved by various trials, 7 so that the tested genuineness of your faith–more precious than gold that perishes though it is tested by fire–may be found to result in praise and glory and honor at the revelation of Jesus Christ. 8 Though you have not seen him, you love him. Though you do not now see him, you believe in him and rejoice with joy that is inexpressible and filled with glory, 9 obtaining the outcome of your faith, the salvation of your souls.
 1 Peter 1:3-9


Life is full of trials and doubt, and not everyone sees “God’s best for us”  at first, but even in this life of toil and trouble we are constantly shown it is in our eternal life that is ultimately the best. I find that I sometimes feel like its a cop out answer. I usually want to see the results of God’s best for me immediately, or I wonder if I had missed my chance. Then I remember that God doesn’t allow us to miss His best if we are faithful. Then I find myself wondering when His best will come, and in waiting I often doubt because so many things seem like the best for me and I wander into them only to be hurt by them. It is the truth of Scripture even when my heart does not want to be told the truth. As Ecclesiastes speaks to, everything else in life is meaningless without the pursuit of God. The lives we live seem so finite in comparison to eternity with God in Christ. Everything good we get in this life, is only an added blessing to the Ultimate Good…Eternity with God. The only being that understands our misunderstood and broken state.

As long as you pursue  a relationship with Him you will only be given His best. Even in the trials of life, He will use them for His will in your life. The Enemy has no say in the outcome of the attacks he makes on you if you are faithful to God through Christ. You are only made better through the fire. Your need to be reminded of Gods faithfulness to you is one of many trials you will face and it is a blessing to test you and help you grow in authentic and fierce faith. Do not be discouraged by it, but only encouraged completely and fully knowing God seeks to make you more than what you are in this struggle. 

You are created in the image of an eternal God. Value yourself to wait for His perfect timing. You are loved. 

Leave a Reply

