Game Face

Don’t give me that broken brow
Half cracked sad smile
I didn’t ruin this thing alone
I had help
From some very close members

You remember regret, fear, and indifference
Those old poker friends of yours
You gambled with them all the time
The ones who drew cards and played them
On my heart strings like a Spanish guitar

They helped you get a better poker face
While I was off ruining mine
Giving all my bluffs away
I put all my chips in
Too drunk on love to fold

But, now you can play that
Spanish guitar all you like
Pluck those delicate strings like a sad song
Because it’s hard to call a bluff
When this player is always crying

Leave a Reply

