Is It an Ignorance Issue or a Trust Issue?

I had read an article entitled “You will be shocked at how ignorant Americans are” about how young adults are consuming less news and information and how this is setting the stage for a generation of ignorance.

I don’t watch the news much, but I wouldn’t consider myself ignorant either
(Ironically just what an ignorant person would say). Not because I enjoy ignorant bliss, but because I am too emotionally overwhelmed by the trauma of the world, that I simply cannot stand listening to how everything is falling apart. I suffer from depression. The world news is full of depressing stories and the news usually concludes with a silly or happy moment at the end of each broadcast to lighten the load, but it isn’t enough.

That isn’t the only reason though. I don’t trust the news anymore.

I find the news to be sensationalized. They tend to make a bigger deal out of small things. Asking questions behind the motivations of even those light hearted stories they offer us, making them more than they were. I don’t want my reality puffed up. I don’t want the blow hardened or softened. No trigger words. No superlatives. Just what is known and no more or less. Let the news be news. I didn’t come for a spectacle. I didn’t come for the opinions of the reporters. I didn’t come to listen to three or four reporters argue about pieces of information of a much bigger story, getting hung up on questions that don’t matter.

If anyone is informationally ignorant…I often think it is the actual news reporters and networks.

Our coming generations are not interested in the falsehoods of puffery. We want the real authentic deal. Tell it to us straight. If you won’t tell it the way it is, we look on the news as a joke. If we get the slightest feeling that the news might not be telling us the truth…then we cannot build trust and therefore, we do not associate ourselves with it.

Then again, I find it interesting that a site dedicated to providing news (*cough*biased*cough*) is using such trigger words as “ignorance” to describe a generation of people who may threaten their way of life (*cough*biased*cough*). I find myself wondering about the legitimacy of the research. I find myself wondering about the wording of any surveys that might have recoded this information. I wonder about the sensationalism in the piece, about the verbs and adjectives they use to describe the, for lack of a better phrase, “ignorant offenders.” A million red flags come to mind when I read this article, and I cannot help but wonder, if this information is even accurate at all.

Just a few hours before reading the article about ignorance I found an article called “35 Viral News Stories From 2014 That Were Actually Totally Untrue: The internet sits on a throne of lies.” now, I am not saying that BuzzFeed is an accurate source of information, but what I am saying is that we cannot find ourselves trusting of every piece of information that is thrown at us because of situations like this. Why is the news any different? Why should we trust networks to give us accuracy when they intend to gain ratings, viewership, and money?

How can I trust something that tries to buy the very breath I take in time? Even more so, how can I trust something that gives me news within the same hour it gives me entertainment? It’s not that we are ignorant to the information. It is we want the information, and it isn’t being provided in a way that we can trust it. This isn’t an ignorance issue. It’s one of trust.

But the bigger question is this: What will the news networks have to do to regain our trust?

Leave a Reply

